SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA THEOLOGICAL LIBRARY ASSOCIATION AMENDED CONSTITUTION AS ADOPTED ON APRIL 21, 2017

Preamble

In recognition of the significant role played in theological education by theological libraries, theological collections and their staffs and the benefits of mutual endeavor, especially in a circumscribed geographical area, we constitute ourselves as:

Article 1 - Name

1.1. This association shall be known as the Southeastern Pennsylvania Theological Library Association (SEPTLA).

Article 2 - Purpose

2.1. This association shall exist to foster and support cooperative endeavors among theological libraries in eastern Pennsylvania and the adjacent mid-Atlantic area.

Article 3 - Non-profit Status

3.1. No part of the net earnings of the association and no distribution or expenditure shall inure or be made for the benefit of any individual, and no substantial part of the association's activities shall be for the carrying on of propaganda or otherwise attempting to influence legislation.

Article 4 - Membership

- 4.1. Members Theological libraries fulfilling the requirements for membership as defined in the Bylaws shall be constituted Members of the association
 - 4.1.1. Members shall have one officially designated voting representative to the association.
 - 4.1.2. Members are encouraged to have as many staff members as they choose to attend meetings of the association.

Article 5 - Governance

5.1. Meetings

- 5.1.1. The association shall hold an annual organizational meeting in the Spring of each year.
- 5.1.2. There may be additional meetings for the conduct of business, for continuing education, for pursuit of mutual endeavors, and for fellowship as may be determined from time to time.

5.2. Conduct of Business

5.2.1. A quorum shall consist of designated representatives of half the institutions who are Members of SEPTLA.

5.3. Elections

- 5.3.1. Elections shall be held annually at the Spring meeting.
- 5.3.2. A simple majority of persons present from Member institutions will be sufficient for election.

5.4. Officers

5.4.1. The officers of the association shall be a President, Past President, Secretary, and Treasurer.

5.5. Executive Committee

- 5.5.1. There shall be an Executive Committee, which shall be charged with long-range planning for the association.
- 5.5.2. The Executive Committee shall consist of the President, Past President, Secretary, Treasurer, and the Chairs of Committees, Interest Groups and active Task Forces.

Article 6 - Committees and Programs

6.1. The association may organize itself by means of committees, programs, interest groups, task forces and other forms as described in the bylaws in order to further the purposes of the association.

Article 7 - Amendments

7.1. Amendments, additions or deletions to the articles of this constitution may be made by a two-thirds majority vote of the Member institutions. Such amendments, additions or deletions shall be distributed to the Members at least 30 days in advance of the next duly called business meeting. Discussion and additional motions may proceed during those 30 days and at the duly called business meeting. The vote on the final version of the motion will be conducted by email or other digital means over a 7-day period beginning at the conclusion of the business meeting, with each Member institution having one vote. The voting process will be overseen by the Executive Committee.

Article 8 - Dissolution

8.1. In the event of dissolution, after paying or making provision for payment of all liabilities, the association shall dispose of any assets by: (1) equal division of assets among the then current Members, or (2) to any organization or organizations organized and operated exclusively for charitable, educational, literary or scientific purposes as shall at the time qualify as an exempt organization under section

501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 (or the corresponding provision of any future United States Internal Revenue Law) as the membership shall determine.

8.2. The course of dissolution may be accomplished by vote of a quorum of the designated representatives of the Members.